Top Missouri players earn all-district honors with four receiving Player of the Year nods

Palmyra’;s Bear Bock (2) shoots a three point shot during the Panthers sectional game against the Priory Ravens, Tuesday in Palmyra.  Mathew Kirby (Herald WhigCourier Post)

Palmyra senior guard Bear Bock was named the Class 3 District 6 Player of the Year. | Mathew Kirby photo

HANNIBAL, Mo. — Four area basketball players were named Player of the Year in their respective districts by the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association and four coaches received the top district honor as well.

The MBCA all-district selections are not based on district tournament performances. They are supposed to be an overview of the entire season with each coach within the district getting to vote.

In Class 3 District 6, Palmyra’s one-loss regular season and sectional berth resulted in senior guard Bear Bock being named the Player of the Year and Brian Rea being selected as Coach of the Year. Bock was joined by the all-district team by senior forward Carson Hicks, sophomore guard Ryan McKinney and freshman guard Hudson Bock.

Also making the all-district team were South Shelby senior forward Chance Rainey and junior guard Noah Wilt; Monroe City sophomore guard Quincy Mayfield and senior forward Waylon DeGrave; Highland senior forward Brady Campen and Mark Twain junior forward Sam Northcutt.

In Class 2 District 6, Canton swept the top honors with junior forward Preston Brewer being named the Player of the Year and Dalton Armontrout being tabbed Coach of the Year. Brewer was joined on the all-district team by junior forward Tyler Frazier and sophomore forward Kaden Oliver.

In Class 1 District 11, Marion County junior guard Joey Lagemann, North Shelby senior guard Gabe Orr and North Shelby junior guard Jade Daniel were all-district selections.

On the girls side,iIn Class 3 District 6, South Shelby junior guard Callie McWilliams was named the Player of the Year and the Lady Birds’ Luke O’Laughlin was named the Coach of the Year.

Earning all-district honors were Palmyra senior forward Candra King, junior forward Sydney Compton and junior guard Clare Williams; South Shelby junior forward Belle Roush, senior guard Kamryn Mitchell and McWilliams; Monroe City junior forward Audri Youngblood and sophomore guard Naaron Hays; and Highland sophomore guard Addy Abell and freshman guard Keera Rothweiler.

In Class 2 District 5, Canton’s Macie Fisher was named the Player of the Year and Clopton’s Deavon Streed was named the Coach of the Year. All-district honors went to Fisher and Canton junior guard Macy Glasgow.

In Class 1 District 10, North Shelby’s Chris Parsons was named Co-Coach of the Year with Cairo Northeast’s Brian Winkler. Earning all-district honors were North Shelby sophomore guards Hadlee Parsons and Harper Copenhaver and Marion County sophomore guard Aylah Pollard.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Related Articles