Erb chasing another victory when Hell Tour arrives at Adams County Speedway

Hell Tour

QUINCY — There’s little question who the man to beat is Wednesday night when the 39th annual UMP DIRTCar Summer Nationals Hell Tour arrives at Adams County Speedway.

Tyler Erb, the driver known as “Terbo,” has dominated the first week of the Summer Nationals, showing three wins in as many tries going into Tuesday night’s stop in Davenport, Iowa. Erb has produced back-to-back-to-back victories at Illinois tracks in Fairbury, Granite City and Peoria. Two other scheduled tour dates were rained out.

The 27-year-old Erb, who resides in New Waverly, Texas, isn’t just dominating the Summer Nationals. He’s making history.

With his win Saturday night at Fairbury Speedway, Erb became the first driver in Hell Tour history to win the first three races of the Summer Nationals since the legendary Billy Moyer Sr. did so in 2010. 

Erb is honored simply to be positioned in that kind of dirt-track company. Moyer (100) is second only to Shannon Babb (101) in career Hell Tour victories.

“It’s cool, Billy is one of the top two best (drivers) I would say,” Erb told “I’ve never had the opportunity (until this year) to actually run this deal since I felt like I’ve had a good grasp on racing.

“It’s hard to win one, let alone (two or three), so it’s best-case scenario right now. Just got to ride the wave, and if it keeps clicking like it is, everybody is happy.”

Drivers will be racing in Quincy for a $5,000 first-prize check.

Hot laps at 8000 Broadway are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. The pits open at 3 p.m., the grandstands at 4:30 p.m.

Grandstand admission will be $25 for adults, $22 for seniors and military personnel and $10 for kids 11-15. Kids 10 and under will be admitted free. A variety of family rates and packages will be available at the gate.

Pit passes are $45 for adults and $25 for kids.

This year’s Hell Tour sees 29 races over a 33-day period, traveling through nine states before the finale at Wayne County Speedway in Ohio on July 14.

Paired with the Super Late Models will again be the DIRTcar Modified Nationals, which will run 23 dates over the same 33-day period. Joining those two classes on Wednesday night’s card will be the Sport Mods and Crown Vics.

Before his win in the Hell Tour season opener, Erb had only made two combined starts with the Summer Nationals, both over the past two seasons. He recently announced his departure from the Lucas Oil National Late Model series and is now free to choose where he wants to race. He said the Summer Nationals is an event that seems to be a perfect place for him.

“I like the tracks and my guys are happy,” Erb said. “I just like the style of racing in Illinois in general … it’s just fun, it creates a lot of options to race and that’s what I like.”

This will be Erb’s second visit to Quincy this season. He won the May 5 season-opening MLRA race, which also paid $5,000 to win. 

Erb already shows a sizable Hell Tour points lead (239-189) over Dennis Erb of Carpentersville. Ill., who ironically is no relation, Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., is third with 185.

Drivers from as many as 11 states and Australia are expected Wednesday night. Among the states likely to be represented in the pits will are Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, Wisconsin, Florida, Texas, Arkansas, North Carolina, Kentucky, Georgia and Oregon.

Both track qualifying records could fall. 

The late model qualifying mark, established by Drake Troutman of Hyndman, Pa., at the 2023 Hell Tour’s stop in Quincy, is 11.898 seconds (87.746 mph). When Troutman set the mark last year, he surpassed the longstanding 12.669 clocking turned in by Will Vaught in the 2009 Hell Tour date at the track.

The modified record of 13.587 seconds (78.163 mph) belongs to Josh Harris of Utica, Ky., established in July 2023.

Hell Tour History in Quincy

Race winners

2023: Ashton Winger, Senoia, Ga.

2022: Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, Ill.

2021: Track closed

2020: Track closed

2019: Mike Marlar, Winfield, Tenn.

2018: Brian Shirley, Chatham Ill.

2017: Brandon Sheppard, new Berlin, Ill.

2016: Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, Ill.

2015: Rained out

2014: Rained out

2013: Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, Ill.

2012: Brian Shirley, Chatham, Ill.

2011: No race scheduled in Quincy

2010: Jeep Van Wormer, Pinconning, Mich.

2009: Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, Ill.

2008: Rained out

2007: Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, Ill.

2006: Randy Korte, Highland, Ill.

Top 10 Finishes By Quincy Area Drivers

2023: Justin Reed, 8th; Mark Burgtorf, 9th

2019: Rickey Frankel, 8th

2016: Dustin Griffin, 5th; Jason Perry, 8th; Mark Burgtorf, 9th; Denny Woodworth, 10th

2013: Jason Perry, 6th; Denny Woodworth, 10th

2012: Mark Burgtorf, 9th

2010: Mark Burgtorf, 5th; Denny Woodworth, 9th

2007: Mark Burgtorf, 7th

2006: Mark Burgtorf, 5th

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Related Articles