Dirty Thirty: Hell Tour ready to invade Adams County Speedway


Bobby Pierce won the UMP Summer Nationals Super Late Model Hell Tour feature race at Adams County Speedway in 2022. | Photo courtesy Lacy Norgaard

QUINCY — Adams County Speedway will play host to the UMP Summer Nationals Super Late Model Hell Tour on Wednesday, always one of the season’s most anticipated shows at the venerable dirt track at 8000 Broadway.

There was no racing last Sunday, allowing track workers some extra time to fine-tune the facilities for an event that will also include the Summit Modified Series and DIRTcar Sport Compacts.

The Hell Tour will pay $5,000 to win and the Summit mods $1,500.

The Quincy race starts week three of the Hell Tour competition, which is being run this year in seven-day segments through the end of July.

Jason “The High Side Hustler” Feger of Bloomington, Ill., was the week two winner with 363 points, followed by Billy Moyer Jr. (306) of Batesville, Ark., Ashton Winger (306) of Senoia, Ga., Frankie Heckenast (289) of Frankfort, Ill., Drake Troutman (249) and Hyndman, Pa., and Kye Bright (247) of Australia.

Week one honors went to Brian “The Squirrel” Shirley (352) of Chatham, Ill., and Feger (312).

Racing will start around 6:30 p.m. Gates open at 4 p.m. Pits open at noon.

We’ll use our Dirty Thirty format to provide a glimpse of the Hell Tour and a look at the five weekly series leaders at what constitutes the midseason break:

Hell Tour

• The largest first-place payout in Quincy came in 2009 when winner Shannon “The Moweaqua Missile” Babb earned $10,000 of a record $42,500 purse.

• This will mark the 12th Hell Tour race in Quincy, dating to Randy “King Kong” Korte’s inaugural win in 2006. 

• Three Hell Tour races have been rained out, one year (2011) there was no tour date scheduled for Quincy and in 2020-21 the track was closed.

• Multiple Hell Tour winners in Quincy have been Babb (3), Bobby “The Smooth Operator” Pierce (2) and Brian “The Squirrel” Shirley (2).

• General admission prices are $30 for adults, $28 for seniors and $10 for kids 6-13. Kids 5-under are free. 


• Track points: Austen Becerra 393, Jacob Rexing 380, Mike Vanderiet Jr. 336, Dave Wietholder 308, Mark Burgtorf 285.

• Muddy River Performance Points: Austen Becerra 110, Jacob Rexing 90, Dave Wietholder 73, Mike Vanderiet Jr. 63, Mark Burgtorf 58.

• Feature victories: Austen Becerra 3, four with 1.

• Overall victories: Austen Becerra 6, four with 2.

• Feature laps led: Austen Becerra 54, Shawn Deering 18.

Sport Mods

• Track points: Tanner Klingele 231, Reed Wolfmeyer 216, Logan Cumby 214, Dakota Girard 209, A.J. Tournear 208.

• Muddy River Performance Points: Tanner Klingele 126, Reed Wolfmeyer 104, Logan Cumby 68, Kyler Girard 63, Dakota Girard 61, Adam Birck 59.

• Feature victories: Tanner Klingele 2, Reed Wolfmeyer 2.

• Overall victories: Reed Wolfmeyer 5, Adam Birck 4, Tanner Klingele 3. 

• Feature laps led: Reed Wolfmeyer 39, Tanner Klingele 19, Logan Cumby 19.

Crate Late Models

• Track points: Jason Perry 410, Denny Woodworth 371, Tommy Elston 341, Sam Halstead 315, Darin Weisinger Jr. 293.

• Muddy River Performance Points: Jason Perry 112, Denny Woodworth 91, Sam Halstead 73, Tommy Elston 67, Jamie Wilson 55.

• Feature victories: Jason Perry 2, Denny Woodworth 2.

• Overall victories: Jason Perry 5, Denny Woodworth 5.

• Feature laps led: Denny Woodworth 33, Jason Perry 29.


• Track points: Jeffrey DeLonjay 237, Jimmy Dutlinger 230, Jaden DeLonjay 226, Spencer Coats 212, Kim Abbott 202.

• Muddy River Performance Points: Jeffrey DeLonjay 135, Jimmy Duylinger 104, Jaden DeLonjay 92, Spencer Coats 53.

• Feature victories: Jeffrey DeLonjay 4, two with 1.

• Overall victories: Jeffrey DeLonjay 8, Jimmy Dutlinger 3, Jaden DeLonjay 3.

• Feature laps led: Jeffrey DeLonjay 31, Jaden DeLonjay 21, Jimmy Dutlinger 16.

Stock Cars

• Track points: Jake Powers 230, Kale Foster 209, Brandon Boden 204, Rudy Zaragoza 188.

• Muddy River Performance Points: Jake Powers 125, Rudy Zaragoza 98, Kale Foster 57.

• Feature victories: Jake Powers 2, Rudy Zaragoza 2.

• Overall victories: Rudy Zaragoza 5, Jake Powers 3.

• Feature laps led: Rudy Zaragoza 42, Jake Powers 21.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Related Articles